Days at The Ballpark

When I reach back in the file and pull out my earliest memory I always go back to my fourth birthday and very first ballgame riding into old Busch Stadium on my fathers shoulders in absolute aw and amazement. Til this day, I can still hear the roar of the crowd, the smell of beer and hot dogs and the sound of Albert Pujols’ bat smacking a ball over 400 feet against the LA Dodgers. Even though time has past and the names on the back of jerseys have changed, I still til this day walk into Busch Stadium with the same emotions as I did the very first time I saw the field that holds some of the worlds best athletes.

As I have gotten to the age of 18, I’ve all but realized my dream of getting paid a 100 million dollars to throw a ball is all but gone by the way-side as no college offered me to even be the foul ball boy. So now my interests now reside in watching someone else do it as much as I can. During the summer is when I try to sneak away from everyday life which for me is going to work from sun up to sun down. This past summer, I went to my fair share of cardinals games going places stemming from Milwaukee, Kansas City, Minnesota, and of course St. Louis and Wrigley. With each stadium I’ve come to learn a few things. For example, if you show up to Wrigley with a Cardinals sticker on the back window, it will most likely be scratched or pulled off. Along with in Milwaukee, buy cheap seats and just move up a few rows because hardly anyone goes to the games anyway.

With each game I go to, it’s like that first time rush of excitement all comes back from my four year old self and really, there is no other place I’d rather be than at the Ballpark.

 


Leave a comment